Found 2306 results

Our Lady of Lourdes School - Staff photo 1974

Our Lady of Lourdes School staff.

Back row (L-R) S.M. Adrian, Mrs Kath Walker, Mrs Fisher, S.M. Terrence?

Front row (L-R) Joan Dewar, S.M. Catherine, Reg Speller, S.M. de Sales, Jennifer O'Connell

Creator:      Francis Victor Studio
Place:          Palmerston North
Date:          1974

Caccia Birch Front Room

Caccia Birch, as it is known today, was designed by L G West and built for Jacob Nannestad, a sawmiller, in about 1892. After being sold to Jack Strang in 1903 the house was extensively enlarged, both by him and by the New Zealand Government durin...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          130 Te Awe Awe Street, Hokowhitu, Palmerston North
Date:          December 1981

Caccia Birch Main Staircase

Caccia Birch, as it is known today, was designed by L G West and built for Jacob Nannestad, a sawmiller, in about 1892. After being sold to Jack Strang in 1903 the house was extensively enlarged, both by him and by the New Zealand Government durin...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          130 Te Awe Awe Street, Hokowhitu, Palmerston North
Date:          December 1981

Hitching Post in The Square

One of the original hitching posts for horses, in The Square. Photographs from the time indicate that this post was only one component of the design - the complete design has three such posts supporting a rail to which horses could be tied. It is ...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          The Square, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

Kaingahou, Fireplace in Small Room

"Kaingahou" in Palmerston North was built for Ditlev Monrad after he retired from Karere in 1905. He died in 1908. The house was later owned by the Kendall family, Mr R A Swan, Mrs Helen Beckman and Bodil and Gunner Petersen. The 3500 square foot ...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          642 Pioneer Highway, Palmerston North
Date:          December 1981

Totaranui, Side View

This house was built in Fitzroy Street in 1875, making it one of the earliest buildings in the city, and is now situated outside Te Manawa Museum. The timber used in the flooring, wallboards, joints and rafters are of totara and the skirting, arch...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Date:          December 1981

Hokowhitu Lagoon, Palmerston North

Hokowhitu Lagoon is the only one of the original 5 lagoons, present when Europeans first settled Palmerston North, remaining. As part of the Hokowhitu Reserve the lagoon remained in Maori ownership until 1892-1893, becoming part of what is now kno...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          Centennial Lagoon, Hokowhitu, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

125 Fitzherbert Avenue, Drawing Room Fireplace

This house at 125 Fitzherbert Avenue no longer stands on this site. In the 1980s it was in Category 2 of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust register, for it architectural significance.

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          125 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

104 Napier Road, Furnishings

The house at 104 Napier Road, opposite Keith Street, no longer stands at this address (2010).

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          104 Napier Road, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

The Taverners Arms Hotel

The Taverners Arms operated as the Railway Hotel from when it was built in 1905 until 1970 when it was granted a motel–hotel license. Previous owners included John Hurley (1905), William Owen (1914) and J Anderson (1920). In 1981 Super Liquor Man ...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Date:          1982

56 Brightwater Terrace, Door into Hall

This house at 56 Brightwater Terrace was built in 1880. The house is notable as an atypical example of the architecture of the early 1880s. The building is noted in Category 2 of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust register because of its archit...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          56 Brightwater Terrace, The Square, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

The Grand Hotel - Details of Staircase

The Grand Hotel was built in 1906 for Martin Craven, to replace the Provincial Hotel which was gutted by fire. In 1985 the then owners, Manawatu Holdings Ltd, converted the top floors into commercial offices and retail space.

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          Corner of The Square and Church Street, Palmerston North
Date:          1982

451 College Street, Hallway Archway

This house was built in 1902 by Lawrence Laurenson for his family. The Laurenson family continued to occupy it at least until the 1980s. The Laurenson family emigrated from the Shetland Islands arriving on the ‘Avalanche’ in 1875. This building is...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          451 College Street, Hokowhitu, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

398 Church Street, Living Room Fireplace

This house, previously 174 Church Street, was built c1876. It was rented by Count von Blaramberg in the 1890s and used as a private school. The longest tenants of the house were the Bartlett family, 1908 - 1961. The Bartlett daughters, Beryl and C...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Date:          December 1981

398 Church Street, Original No 28 Plate

This house, previously 174 Church Street, was built c1876. It was rented by Count von Blaramberg in the 1890s and used as a private school. The longest tenants of the house were the Bartlett family, 1908 - 1961. The Bartlett daughters, Beryl and C...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Date:          1981

56 Brightwater Terrace, Side View

This house at 56 Brightwater Terrace was built in 1880. The house is notable as an atypical example of the architecture of the early 1880s. The building is noted in Category 2 of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust register because of its archit...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Date:          1981

Kaingahou, Details of Front Verandah

"Kaingahou" in Palmerston North was built for Ditlev Monrad after he retired from Karere in 1905. He died in 1908. The house was later owned by the Kendall family, Mr R A Swan, Mrs Helen Beckman and Bodil and Gunner Petersen. The 3500 square foot ...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Date:          December 1981

Billiard Room at 'Waimarama', 46 Alfred Street

This house was built 1905 - 1906 for Elizabeth and James Alfred Nash. Nash was both a Mayor and MP for Palmerston North. In 1914 it was sold to R Moore who named it 'Waimarama'. It was designed by Ernest Larcombe and is listed in category 1 of the...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Date:          December 1981

Kaingahou, Door Off Hall Into Study

"Kaingahou" in Palmerston North was built for Ditlev Monrad after he retired from Karere in 1905. He died in 1908. The house was later owned by the Kendall family, Mr R A Swan, Mrs Helen Beckman and Bodil and Gunner Petersen. The 3500 square foot ...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Date:          December 1981

Totaranui, Door to Kitchen

This house was built in Fitzroy Street in 1875, making it one of the earliest buildings in the city, and is now situated outside Te Manawa Museum. The timber used in the flooring, wallboards, joints and rafters are of totara and the skirting, arch...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Date:          December 1981

451 College Street, Dining Room Fireplace

This house was built in 1902 by Lawrence Laurenson for his family. The Laurenson family continued to occupy it at least until the 1980s. The Laurenson family emigrated from the Shetland Islands arriving on the ‘Avalanche’ in 1875. This building is...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          451 College Street, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

Norton Park, 578 Featherston Street

'Norton', also known as 'Norton Park', was built c1894-1895 for John Mowlem. It was owned by various others until it became the residence of Sir Matthew and Lady Margaretta Oram. At this time it was named Norton by Matthew Oram, MP for Manawatu (1...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          578 Featherston Street, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

Caccia Birch Main Room Fireplace

Caccia Birch, as it is known today, was designed by L G West and built for Jacob Nannestad, a sawmiller, in about 1892. After being sold to Jack Strang in 1903 the house was extensively enlarged, both by him and by the New Zealand Government durin...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          130 Te Awe Awe Street, Hokowhitu, Palmerston North
Date:          December 1981

Caccia Birch Main Staircase

Caccia Birch, as it is known today, was designed by L G West and built for Jacob Nannestad, a sawmiller, in about 1892. After being sold to Jack Strang in 1903 the house was extensively enlarged, both by him and by the New Zealand Government durin...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          130 Te Awe Awe Street, Hokowhitu, Palmerston North
Date:          December 1981

125 Fitzherbert Avenue, Fireplance in Room Adjoining Kitchen

This house at 125 Fitzherbert Avenue no longer stands on this site. In the 1980s it was in Category 2 of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust register, for it architectural significance.

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          125 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

16 Guy Avenue, Details or Staircase

This house was built on ten acres of land at 145 Rangitikei Street. In 1903 it was bought by Andrew Guy, a local barrister and solicitor. The Guy estate was subdivided in 1935, to form Guy Avenue and the house remained on one section of the origin...

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          16 Guy Avenue, Takaro, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

104 Napier Road, Hallway and Hat Stand

The house at 104 Napier Road, opposite Keith Street, no longer stands at this address (2010).

Creator:      Elizabeth Creamer
Place:          104 Napier Road, Palmerston North
Date:          1981

Memorial Park, Pre-Development

Photograph showing the natural state of Memorial Park before the development of the area started, dated 1 September 1952.

Formerly a ballast pit owned by New Zealand Railways, the Memorial Park area was developed as a recreational area from 1938 ...

Creator:      PNCC
Place:          Memorial Park, Main Street, Palmerston North
Date:          September 1, 1952

John Christian Richter and his family

Johan Kristian Richter (1831-1904) was born in Norway. He anglicised his name to John Christian Richter after migrating to New Zealand. He married Harriet Frances Rae (1855-1942) in Sydney. The couple had eight children: Jorgen Robert Richter (187...

Creator:      Billens and Bunting, attributed
Date:          1996

Bush Felling in the Pohangina Valley

These men are involved in bush felling across the river from the small settlement at Komako.

Creator:      Unknown
Place:          Pohangina Valley
Date:          circa 1890 to circa 1899

Narrow search results