The Māori Battalion Hall, named 'Te Rau Aroha' (emblem of gratitude), was erected in Palmerston North as a national memorial to the men of the 28th (Māori) Battalion who lost their lives in the Second World War. It was designed by John Scott, architect of Hastings, and the 14 carved panels on the facade (8 feet x 1 foot 6 inches) were carved by Kelly Kereama of Feilding. Inside 639 names of those who did not return are inscribed on 14 brass plates. All the concrete, both inside and out, was left unplastered and with the marks of the boxing to symbolise the strength of the Māori people. The three-storey building was planned as a community centre to serve all races and was opened in June 1964 by the Governor General, Sir Bernard Fergusson.
This slide is labelled "Massey University - Arts Etc building" and has been identified as the Mataamua building - the first building constructed for the Teacher's Training College. It was subsequentially earthquake strengthened with a metal frame extending round the exterior. The building was scheduled for demolition when the campus was sold to the Wallace Development Company in 2016. For extensive information on the campus, search for Ben Foster's community uploads in Manawatū Heritage.
This slide is labelled Tea Kiosk - Centennial Drive, but as at 2016, this building is The Chalet, situated next to Hokowhitu Lagoon. The building was built by the Palmerston North City Council in the mid 1960's.
A view of the King Edward VII Coronation Memorial Fountain, also known as the Coronation Monument. It was built in 1902 to mark the coronation of Edward VII. In 1925, it moved and combined with another feature of The Square, the concrete fish pond, then was moved again to the corner of The Square nearest to Broadway Avenue in 2005.
This bridge spanning the Manawatu River was officially opened 9 June 1909, replacing the original bridge that was swept away in the 1895 flood. Until a new bridge was built a punt was used to ferry people and vehicles across the Manawatu River at this point. This bridge was replaced by a concrete structure in 1969
The suspension bridge across the Manawatu River at Opiki (engineer Joseph Dawson, Pahiatua) was constructed by the Tane Hemp Company in 1917-1918. It was known for many years as the Opiki Toll Bridge. It closed in 1969 but can still be seen today (2007).
The suspension bridge across the Manawatu River at Opiki (engineer Joseph Dawson, Pahiatua) was constructed by the Tane Hemp Company in 1917-1918. It was known for many years as the Opiki Toll Bridge. It closed in 1969 but can still be seen today (2016).
A view of The Square from the base of the Hopwood Clock Tower. The Palmerston North City Council Administration Building is situateed where the Coles Building and the empty lot is located. The Commercial Hotel is visible on the right side of the image.
A view of The Square, Palmerston North. The Floral Clock, situated opposite the Palmerston North Post Office on the Main Street corner, was a gift from the Directors of the Manawatu Evening Standard.
Memorial Park (previously named Fitzroy Park) at Terrace End, was formerly a metal pit used by the Railways Department for ballast, from about 1876-1937. The Palmerston North City Council purchased the 21 acre site in 1938 and developed it into a recreational and sporting area. A WWII memorial was erected 1952 and in 1954 Fitzroy Park was officially dedicated as Memorial Park. In 1983 the obelisk was removed and now the gates stand as the official memorial. Photograph was published in The Tribune 20 April 1975.
A view of Palmerston North from the carpark of ANZAC Park. ANZAC Park is situated across the Manawatu River from Palmerston North. In 1964-1965 the area was developed to include a car park, lookout point and picnic spot, and an observatory built there in 1971. This view looks towards the Manawatu River.
A view of Palmerston North from the carpark of ANZAC Park. ANZAC Park is situated across the Manawatu River from Palmerston North. In 1964-1965 the area was developed to include a car park, lookout point and picnic spot, and an observatory built there in 1971.
From left: Watson Brothers Ltd, Lamphouse Television, Joe and Joe Fruiterers, Paddy Bros Ltd, Millar and Giorgi, Barrett's Coffee House, Maple Furniture, Club Hotel and the PDC.
A view of the entrance to the Lido Swimming Complex, Palmerston North. Situated on Park Street, this is still a popular swimming spot for the people of Palmerston North. The pool was planned in 1964, building got under was 23 January 1965 and was officially opened 15 November 1966.
A view of St Peters Church, Ruahine Street. St Peter's Anglican Church was completed in 1961 and consecrated 27 October 1966 by the Right Reverend H W Baines, Bishop of Wellington. The first Anglican service on the site was in a wooden church 4 July 1902.