Painting of Edward Banks. Painted by Anderson of Main Street, Palmerston North. Edward Banks was a brickmaker of Palmerston North. He died in 1906, at 86 years of age, and is buried in Terrace End Cemetery.
Anders Hansen Ihle was born in Norway 26/01/1833 and died in Palmerston North, NZ 20/05/1918. His surname was originally Hansen with the Ihle being a corruption of Iler. Hans married Martha Maria Pedersdotter on 4/03/1865 in the Hovia annex of the Ullensager Church. The family arrived in NZ aboard the ship Celaeno to take up land allotted in Palmerston North, section 350, lot 14 (40 acres of the Karere Scandinavian Block). See IMCA A175/168, Mosquitoes and Sawdust by Val Burr and Skandia 1 page 11-13.
William Alexander Swinbourn (c1881-1943) was Headmaster of College Street School from 1924 - 1936. William Swinbourne was born in Waverley. He taught in and was Headmaster of a number of schools until retiring from College Street School in 1936.
This photograph shows the opening of Palmerston North Technical School on the 29th September 1909, corner of King Street and Duke (now Princess) Street. This building is now used by the Universal College of Learning (UCOL).
The Square photographed in 5 segments and put together. From left showing the streets that connect with The Square: Church Street; Fitzherbert Avenue; Church Street; Main Street; Coleman Place; Rangitikei Street (obscured by trees). From left, shown in the Square are: 1st quadrant - The Peeti Te Awe Awe statue; 2nd quadrant - observatory, the Laklets, cannon; central quadrant - band rotunda, railway line, Coronation Fountain; 3rd quadrant - duck pond (partly obscured); 4th quadrant - cannon. Photograph taken from the Post Office Clock Tower in 1910.
Looking along dirt road to the bridge, crossing the Rangitikei River at Bulls.
A Winter Show was held at the Showgrounds in Pascal Street annually from 1903. Produce was displayed for competition inside one of the pavilions.
The buildings from left to right are: the three C M Ross (Rosco) buildings built ca 1890, 1883 and 1915. All three were demolished in 1927 for the new four storey Rosco Building. The Union Bank of Australia on the corner was built in 1911 and is listed in category 4 of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust register. Further along on the corner of George Street and Coleman Mall can be seen another C M Ross building of 1915. On George Street facing down Coleman Place to The Square is the Palace Theatre, built 1915 on the site occupied by the Manawatu Stables.
The Coronation Fountain, built 1902, is in the forefront of this view of the Square. Directly behind can be seen the men's toilets built in 1982, and the central parking precinct. Buildings in the background are the T & G tower on Broadway and the Telecom tower and building on Main Street. Either side of the Main Street corner of The Square can be seen the Post Office (left) and the Palmerston North Public Library.
John Nairn established his market garden business at the end of College Street, as it was then, in 1893. In all, seven glass houses and other buildings were built over the years. The family business largely grew tomatoes, cucumbers and grapes. These three glass houses measured respectively 100ft by 28ft, 78ft by 28ft and 153ft by 26ft, and were claimed to be the most substantially built structures for commercial growing throughout Australasia. High pressure artesian water tanks imported from England are shown at the rear of the buildings. The business was demolished in 1958, to make way for residential growth in the Awapuni area.
John Nairn established his market garden business at the end of College Street, as it was then, in 1893. In all seven glass houses and other buildings were built over the years. The family business largely grew tomatoes, cucumbers and grapes. The business can be seen just prior to demolition in 1958, to make way for residential growth in the Awapuni area. The Nairn home can be seen in the background.
John Nairn (c1864-1943) came to Palmerston North from the South Island and established his market garden business, Manawatu Vineries, in 1893. The family business largely grew tomatoes, cucumbers and grapes. L-R: Annie Jane Nairn (nee McDowall); Irene May Nairn (their first child born 25 January 1885); John Nairn.
John Nairn established his market garden business at the end of College Street, as it was then, in 1893. In all seven glass houses and other buildings were built over the years. The family business largely grew tomatoes, cucumbers and grapes.
Celebrations of the 50th anniversary of Palmerston North being given the status of Borough were held 27 February – 4 March 1927. Early settlers, seated in the grandstand of the Manawatu and West Coast Agricultural and Pastoral (A & P) Association Showgrounds, were acknowledged for the part they played, on the 4 March 1927.
Palmerston North held celebrations to mark the coronation of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth. The procession started in The Square and was followed by a ceremony performed at the Showgrounds. Here we see returned soliders and other men's and women's groups parading around the corner of Coleman Place and The Square.
Palmerston North held celebrations to mark the coronation of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth. The procession started in The Square and was followed by a ceremony performed at the Showgrounds. Nurses march in a group, followed by others, around the corner of Coleman Place and The Square
Celebrations of the 60th anniversary of Palmerston North being given the status of Borough were held 20-27 November 1937. On 26 November the ‘Old Identities’ were part of a procession from the Opera House to the Showgrounds where a service was held and a luncheon provided in the Produce Hall. They were then taken back to The Square in cars. The old identities are seated in the grandstand of the Palmerston North A & P Showgrounds.
Palmerston North held celebrations to mark the coronation of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth. A procession marched from The Square to the Showgrounds followed by a ceremony. Here the Mayor, local dignitiaries and citizens view the march past at the showgrounds.
Aerial view of the parade ground and the associated buildings of the Showgrounds, which were established on this site in 1886. To the left of the photograph (sited off Pascal Street) can be seen the All Saints Children's Home (with curved drive and paddock next door).
Panorama of a rugby game in play between Te Aute College and Wanganui High School. Shows spectators, grandstands and field. A number of tents have been erected on the Cuba Street side beyond the field. The showgrounds were opened for the first A & P Association Show in 1886 on the site of the first cemetery plot in Palmerston North, and still stand bound by Cuba, Pascal, Waldegrave and Featherston Streets. They were used for rugby/football from 1891.
A panorama of the Palmerston North Showgrounds, showing grandstand, band rotunda, show buildings and yards. The showgrounds were opened in 1886 on the site of the first cemetery plot in Palmerston North, and still stand bound by Cuba, Pascal, Waldegrave and Featherston Streets.
Two photographs of The Square in Palmerston North. The top one looks across the railway lines and one quadrant of The Square with the cannon in it. Beyond can be seen Coleman Place, with the Union Bank of Australia on the corner, the Fire Station and bell tower, the Clarendon Hotel on the corner of Rangitikei Street and The Square. Across the corner of Rangitikei Street is the Royal Hotel and shops that run into Broadway. The bottom photograph looks across the same quadrant of The Square from Rangitikei Street corner towards Main Street east. It shows the Bank of Australasia, Bennett’s book shop, situated here 1891 to 1918, and the Chief Post Office.
Ruahine Street runs along the bottom of the photograph, with Church Street on the left. Ferguson Street is to the right. Rostrata' maternity home can be seen on the corner of Ruahine and Ferguson Streets at the top left. In the centre of the block can be seen Jensen's Pit, which was then being filled in.
Standing: Brothers T Parr; C O Osman; C Lee; D J McClure; PA Brother R Stewart; Brother E R Rowland; PA Brother W A Lanksbear; Brothers E Todd; A S Boote. Sitting: Secretary Brother W L Adams; ADB Brother A McDonald; JPA Brother J P Ella; AD Brother F N Eade; VA Brother E A Rees; ADB Brother E G Pope; VAB Brother F Crocombe; Treasurer Brother H McLaggan; IG Brother F G Williams; VAB Brother G. A. Wood.
Sixth photograph, in a series of aerial shots, showing what was to become the Awapuni suburb. Savage Crescent is clearly visible, with the Palmerston North Golf Club between it and the Manawatu River. Botanical Road, to the left, and Cook Street, to the right, can be seen. In 1964the Palmerston North City Council acquired the Golf Club for residential development and the Club relocated to the end of Brightwater Terrace. See also 2008P_OSP_STR_2049 / 2050/ 2051/ 2052/ 2028
Fifth photograph, in a series of aerial shots, showing what was to become the Awapuni suburb. Botanical Road runs through the centre of the photograph to the Palmerston North Golf Club Golf . The Manawatu River can be seen in the foreground. In 1964 the Palmerston North City Council acquired the Golf Club for residential development and the Club relocated to the end of Brightwater Terrace. See also 2008P\_OSP\_STR\_2049 / 2050/ 2051/ 2028/ 2053
Fourth photograph, in a series of aerial shots, showing what was to become the Awapuni suburb. Botanical Road runs down the right of the photograph, and the end of the Palmerston North Golf Club can be seen. In 1964 the Palmerston North City Council acquired the Golf Club for residential development and the Club relocated to the end of Brightwater Terrace. See also 2008P\_OSP\_STR\_2049 / 2050/ 2028/ 2052/ 2053.
The panorama was taken in four sections, probably from the Grand Hotel. The first section looks towards Coleman Place around to Rangitikei Street. The second section shows the central quadrant of The Square with the band rotunda and the railway line running through it. The third section, looking from the Grand Hotel corner, through The Square and down Church Street, shows the Fitzherbert Avenue corner. The fourth section overlooks rooftops towards Fitzherbert Avenue and beyond.
The Dannevirke women's representative hockey team lined up with other competitors at a tournament, which was probably held in Invercargill. The Dannevirke players are the third team in from left, wearing dark top and skirt. Freda Mary Stewart is seated in the 2nd row, 5th from left and 2nd Dannevirke person. Freda (b. 1908) played representive hockey in Dannevirke prior to her marriage to Thomas Alder Hayes in 1938, and then lived in Palmerston North.
Portrait of Dr Arthur Anderson Martin (1876-1916) in military uniform. Dr Martin served in the South African Field Force 1901, British Expeditionary Force and as a surgeon in World War One, when he died of wounds at the Somme, 17 September 1916. He was a Senior Surgeon at Palmerston North Hospital and the author of 'Surgeon in Khaki'.