Memorial Park (previously named Fitzroy Park) at Terrace End, was formerly a metal pit used by the Railways Department for ballast, from about 1876-1937. The Palmerston North City Council purchased the 21 acre site in 1938 and developed it into a recreational and sporting area. A WWII memorial was erected 1952 and in 1954 Fitzroy Park was officially dedicated as Memorial Park. In 1983 the obelisk was removed and now the gates stand as the official memorial. Photograph was published in The Tribune 20 April 1975.
- Object type
- Digitisation ID
- Memorial Park entrance, Main Street
- Held In