Massey Vet Tower - Demolition
Photo showing the demolition of the Massey Vet Tower, November 2022
Photo showing the demolition of the Massey Vet Tower, November 2022
This walk was first developed by Pamela Benson and Dale Bailey in 1993. Benson subsequently undertook further research. This interpretation of the material was compiled by Dorothy Pilkington in 1994. Undercover Art Deco was printed in the same booklet as the Architects Walk Heritage Trail, which is also available on Manawatū Heritage 2025Pa_A175-375_043641_001.
This walking trail brochure was compiled by Dorothy Pilkington, with the majority of information taken from the Palmerston North Central Business District Heritage Inventory (1993), compiled by Ian Bowman and Michael Kelly for the PNCC. Assistance was also given by the Palmerston North architect Terry Gill. The colour photography is by Graeme Brown. Architects Walk was printed in the same booklet as the Undercover Art Deco Heritage Trail, which is also available on Manawatū Heritage 2025Pa_A175-375_043640_001.
Garners began in The Square, Palmerston North 7 February 1906 with a small drapery business. Three years later Miss M M Garner went into business with her brothers and they became “Garner and Garner'. In 1923 K M Garner joined the firm, later becoming its Managing Director. By 1937 Miss Garner was no longer involved in the business and Garners moved to the old Zealandia Hall site in Broadway, which was remodelled to suit the business. The building was remodelled again before 1960 and the premises were extended through to Main Street. Garners were bought out by Smith and Brown in the 1960s.
This building was Palmerston North’s fourth Post Office, operating from 1906-1988. It was extended towards Broadway and up Main Street in the early 1920s and in 1937. It was originally built with a clock tower but this was removed in 1942 for safety reasons and the clock and chimes were re-housed in the ‘new’ clock tower in The Square in 1957. The building is currently used as a bar and cafe. (2015) This commemorative card was created as part of a series of eight replicating scenes of Palmerston North.
This image was taken for a story that ran in The Manawatu Evening Standard on 29 January, 1964. "All enjoying themselves at the New Zealand Veterinary Association cocktail party held on Monday evening are these young visitors. They are, from the left: Mrs J. Noble (Tirau), Mrs W. McDonald (Matamata), Mrs A. Middelberg (Rongotea) and Mrs J. Middlemas (Feilding)."
This image was taken for a story that ran in The Manawatu Evening Standard on 26 January, 1964. "While their husbands were occupied with the more serious business of the New Zealand veterinary conference which opened at the Massey University of the Manawatu this morning, the wives were the guests at an outdoor luncheon given by Mrs I. J. Cunningham, wide of the dean of the newly established veterinary faculty at the university, at her home in Featherson Street. In the group above, taken during the luncheon, are Mrs M. B. Buddle, wife of the president of the association; Mrs I. J. Cunningham, hostess, Mrs J. F. A. Sprent, whose husband is a guest speaker at the conference, and Mrs B. Johnston, a chief executive member of the council."
On 10 July 1967, New Zealand adopted decimal currency. Pounds, shillings and pence (£ s. d.) were replaced by dollars and cents. This letter anticipated the forthcoming change and gave customers a sense of the the new prices they would be paying for goods in the near future.
Panorama of The Square in Palmerston North, taken from the Bank of New Zealand. Extends from the corner of Broadway, across to corner of Main Street.
Panorama of The Square in Palmerston North, taken from the Bank of New Zealand. Extends from the corner of Broadway, across to corner of Main Street.
"A view of the south-western corner of The Square towards Coleman Place. Down the street, through the middle of The Square can be seen from left: Childs Hotel; Henderson’s Chemist; A de Luen and Co. Tailors; Hepworths; C M Ross Bon Marche store, Bank of Australia."
Journalist Tina White's weekly "Memory Lane" article in the Manawatū Standard. Author Mark Twain (Samuel Clemens) spent six weeks touring New Zealand in 1895, part of a world speaking tour. On 2 December 1895, he gave a lecture to a packed audience at the Theatre Royal in Coleman Place. Twain stayed overnight at the Club Hotel in Church Street before catching the train to Whanganui the next day.
Go-Kart Racing on Broadway Avenue
Journalist Tina White's weekly "Memory Lane" article in the Manawatū Standard. The life story of James Alfred (Jimmy) Nash (1871-1952). Jimmy Nash became Palmerston North's 15th mayor in 1908. He was popular, remaining in office for 15 years. In the 1918 by-election, he was elected Minister of Parliament for Palmerston North.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
Set in upper Queen Charlotte Sound, this is a view of Picton taken from the inlet, Picton Harbour. The wharf and waterfront buildings are visible in the foreground. Picton is situated on a rolling flat and is surrounded by hills and mountains.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
The gothic style valve tower was constructed c.1872-1878 for the lower dam at the Wellington Waterworks at Karori. Nicolas Marchant, a civil engineer, was the architect. The earth dam was the first of its kind built by a municipality in Aotearoa New Zealand.
This is now the site of the Zealandia Te Māra a Tāne urban ecosanctuary.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This image comes from a collection of glass negatives found in the attic of 'Lovelock's cottage' by 'Keebles Farm' near Massey University. The people in the images are possibly the Lovelock family, but their identities have not been confirmed.
This roading plan for the development of Stanley Avenue shows the name Frits Street crossed out and replaced with Russell Street. In response to the First World War, several Palmerston North streets with German-sounding names were renamed.