This building in Fitchett Street was originally used by the St Joseph's (Girls') High School. Palmerston North Boys' High School moved in after their hostel had been demolished because it was an earthquake risk.
College Street School was established in 1893 to cater for the growth of the borough between the old railway and river. George Grant was its first headmaster. College Street School was established in 1893 on the west side of College Street, opposite the present buildings (2015).